4 Comments

Doctor Sleep

So, I saw this book actually on sale on Amazon, and I was excited. I had read recently that he was planning on writing this one, but I didn’t realize that it was so close to being released. In case you don’t know, Doctor Sleep is the sequel to The Shining. I am doing that battle within myself to decide if I want to read The Shining again, though chances are I will start and then hide it under a stack of laundry to keep those two creepy hotel girls from killing me in my sleep. I have been tempted to read or reread more of King’s books since I finished 11/22/63, but I have a line that I have to stay behind with creepy books. I enjoy “creepy”, especially in the science fiction or fantasy sense, but the really scary stuff tends to be too much for me now.

However, I think an exception has to be made for this one…

Another Stephen King quick read is The Mist. It was a really creepy one, but it was one I enjoyed because it seemed like more of a science fiction to me. However, it did what many of King’s books did, and feeds off a real fear that we already have. Who doesn’t look at a fog and think….what if? Probably just me, but that’s ok. While the movie for that one is decent, it was a bit too scary for me, and had some changes from the book that I didn’t care for.

4 comments on “Doctor Sleep

  1. Ooooh I LOVE the front cover! The only Stephen King book I have read so far was On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft but I loved it so much that I can’t wait to start some of his other books that have been sitting on my shelf neglected for some time. One of those books is 11/22/63 so I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it so much! 🙂

  2. I’ve only ever read one Stephen King book and that you mentioned, 11/22/63. I’ve seen the film version of The Shining but for some inexplicable reason I haven’t got round to picking up the book. I think Stephen King intimated me to start with but now I jumped in to his works earlier this year, I’m keen to explore more. Any recommendations as of where to go next? I more of the creepy kind than sci fi or fantasy. But I’ll happily take both those elements too.

    My Book Bubble

    • It has been awhile since I have read any of his books that were strictly horror, but I used to read quite a bit of them. The Green Mile is great. If you want more of a ghost related horror, Bag of Bones is good. The Stand is one that everyone says is one of his best, but I haven’t read that one yet. It is on my to be read list, though. One of my favorites is The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon. It is a pretty quick read, and it kind of feeds off of basic fears. He also has a collection of short stories called Four Past Midnight, which has some good short stories, including The Langoliers. Thanks for checking out my blog!

Leave a Reply

