1 Comment

Top Ten Books That Deal with Tough Subjects

Check out The Broke and the Bookish for information on how to participate in the Top Ten Tuesday!

I love books that deal with depressing subjects. It has been a while since I have really read anything like these books. Maybe I should revisit this genre. I particularly like ones that either greet depressing subjects with humor, or at least end on a happier note, eventually. That doesn’t always happen, but I think that can be reality, at times. There is something gripping about reading about situations that deal with a character dealing with a tough circumstance. The books on my list jump around between different situations and character types, and they all are drastically different from each other. However, I felt that every book dealt with a controversial or tough situation, and whether I agreed with everything in the book or not, left an impact on me.

1.A Child Called It by Dave Pelzer
2.She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb
3.The Plain Truth by Jodi Picoult
4.Nothing But the Truth by Avi
5.Monster by Walter Dean Myers
6.The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
7.Girl Interrupted by Susan Kaysen
8.The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne
9.Flowers of Algernon by Daniel Keyes * Probably my favorite book of all time.
10.The Road by Cormac McCarthy

One comment on “Top Ten Books That Deal with Tough Subjects

  1. I agree about these tales being gripping and I do love seeing a character overcome or grow from adversity. Great list!

Leave a Reply

