3 Comments

Top Ten Most Intimidating Books

Check out The Broke and the Bookish for information on how to participate in the Top Ten Tuesday!

I feel like I should insert some ominous drum beats here or something.

It has been awhile since I have posted since I have had a whole lot of crazy real life stuff going on. Good stuff, but stuff. With all my literary experience you would think I could come up with a better word than stuff….

So, I am back with an exciting Top Ten Tuesday post! Yay!

I love to read, but sometimes books in general can be intimidating. We have a world where we can experience a story in many ways, but there is still something very intimate about experiencing a story with a book. The way it is visualized can depend on each person, and we imagine the story all on our own, and internalize it. I truly hope that I don’t ever let a book intimidate me so much that I miss out on a great story!

Top Ten Intimidating Books

The Stand by Stephen King – I want to read this book so badly, because it is one that is praised by Stephen King lovers. It is just kind of big and daunting.

The Dark Tower series by Stephen King – I think I really just need to start this and give it a go. It looks like a western though…but I know it probably isn’t really a western….

The Casual Vacancy – This looks like it is a long book, and to be honest, it doesn’t look very exciting. However, I was a big Harry Potter fan, so I kind of wish I would read it just to support JK Rowling’s writing. I think that is why it is so intimidating, though, because I know nothing can ever top HP. Come on, right more Harry Potter!

Gone with the Wind – I have never seen the movie, and I have never read the book. I have always been curious, though, but it just seems like such a commitment. I also tend to lean more towards fantasy anyways.

Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin – I don’t know why this one intimidates me really.

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy- I don’t think I will ever even attempt this, but this is actually the first book that popped into my mind when I thought about most intimidating books.

1984 by George Orwell- I have always wanted to read this one, but there is just something about it that makes me turn away and reach for something easier.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling- I have read this entire series, but I was scared before I read this one. I knew that some characters died, and it was ending a series that I very much loved. While I feel that it was a wonderful book, I didn’t care for the epilogue.

The Silmarillion by JRR Tolkien – Have you ever attempted to read this? From my understanding, it is like the Genesis of Middle Earth. My husband actually did read this, and I feel like I should bow down to him. It is a tough book, but for people who really love the world of Middle Earth, I am sure it is worth it. Let’s be honest, I will never read it.

The Last of the Mohicans by Fenimore Cooper – This is one of my favorite movies of all time. I just can’t make myself read the book even though I really want to. I really enjoyed Uncas in the movie, and the romance between him and the sister was seriously down played in the movie. (From what I have heard…I haven’t actually read it.)

I am often intimidated by classics, though many of them are amazing. One thing I have started to do is check out the graphic novels. Many classics now have graphic novels published, which convey the same stories. However, they are more concise, and have more pictures. For me, many times this helps me wrap my mind around the story, and I get to briefly know the characters. Then I turn around and read the novel, and I get much more out of it, and it flows a bit better.

3 comments on “Top Ten Most Intimidating Books

  1. Yeah, I totally listed “The Stand.” Those classic tomes intimidate me many times, too. Please check out Top Ten Books that Intimidate Jorie | Jorie’s Reads by Starry Night Elf when you have a chance!

  2. I totally get being intimidated by Casual Vacancy. I haven’t heard the best things about it. A Song of Ice and Fire I get too, but I highly recommend it. Don’t think about the length…just take it bit by bit. I usually read these while reading something else (or several something elses).

    TTT
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  3. I read The Casual Vacancy and it was nothing special at all. I would definitely not recommend it.

Leave a Reply

