11 Comments

Top Ten Books I Wish Had Sequels

Check out The Broke and the Bookish for information on how to participate in the Top Ten Tuesday!

This is a tough one, and some of mine are going to be pretty dorky. I really love a good series, but I feel like there are so many books that are published as series now, especially because of all the success of series such as Twilight and Harry Potter. Some of them are enjoyable, but sometimes it gets overwhelming. The one thing about a series is you have to stick with it awhile, and unless I get sucked in, I know I won’t. Besides, when I do get sucked in, I don’t want to read anything else! That is great if I have time to read, and all of the books are available, but many times you have to wait for months for the book to come in at the library. By the time the book comes in, my obsession is over!

1. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green- I think having a sequel to this book would take away how powerful it was, but similar to Hazel’s experience with her beloved book, I wanted to know what happened to everybody. However, I also feel that Green wanted us to feel the same way that Hazel did about a book she loved and felt was unresolved.

2. Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows – I was not happy with the Epilogue in this book. I did not care what happened 19 years later. The entire series I wanted to know what Harry’s life would be like after the battle. I also wanted to know how everybody dealt with all the aftermath. However, it kind of just cut off and went to 19 years later. For some, it may have left them at peace, but I would have rather known what happened immediately after.

3. The Road by Cormac McCarthy- This book was a mighty fine depressing book all on its own, but I thought it was really good. It was well written, and it was a very interesting story about a father and son living in a post-apocalyptic world. I would like a sequel in which we see what happened to the boy as he grew up, and I am also always curious if the world recovers in a story where it is torn apart.

4. The Mediator Series by Meg Cabot- The thing about a series, is once I get into it, I would be perfectly happy with it going on forever. That is what happens when you are character centric, which is how I am. Sure, it needs a good storyline, because if it eventually becomes stale, you stop losing interest. My best friend Jennie introduced me to Meg Cabot, and this was the first series I read. As a Buffy fan, it caught my interest right away. It is just like Buffy, with a strong female character, dealing with ghosts. Then she falls in love with a ghost, and that whole storyline is awesome, too. However, I would have liked to have seen more about what happened in the events of the last book.

5. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton – This was one of my favorite books as a kid, and one of my favorite movies as well. I watched the movie just recently, and I was surprised at how cheesy it was. It was still awesome, though! The book is so sad, and though the entire storyline wrapped up, I always felt like I wanted to know about what happened to the remaining characters later.

6. The Shining by Stephen King- MUAHAHA I win! He wrote Doctor Sleep! I am hoping, that even though the book is about Danny’s adulthood, they will also talk a little bit about what he went through as a child.

11 comments on “Top Ten Books I Wish Had Sequels

  1. I’d love to read outsiders sequel! 🙂

  2. You have so many great books on this list. I could not agree more with the epilogue of Harry Potter. I was PISSED. I would have been happier if he died with the one that shall not be named, gasp, I know…I’m one of those people. My coworkers have been trying to get me to read any Cormac at all and I haven’t, but now I really want to.

    • I know what you mean! While I would have hated if he died, I would have felt more closure, I think. The poor kid was traumatized all his life, and we never got to see what life was after all that. Cormac is one of my brother’s favorite authors. He is really good, but just to warn you, some of his books are dark and kind of depressing!

  3. I completely agree with The Fault in Our Stars, Harry Potter, and the Outsiders. Great list!

    My TTT.

  4. Ah, you brought out a good point. It will be interesting to know how Harry and everyone else carried on with their lives after all that has happened.

  5. Really great picks! I totally agree with Harry Potter, I think there was more story there and things left unsaid.

  6. I really enjoyed your list! I thought about adding TFiOS to my list, but added Alaska instead- I really enjoyed your thoughts on the ending, and agree that that particular novel, as much as it would be interesting to see the characters later on, is more powerful as a standalone.

Leave a Reply

