5 Comments

Top Ten Books Set During a War

Check out The Broke and the Bookish for information on how to participate in the Top Ten Tuesday!

So, I typed this out yesterday, and fell asleep without posting. That’s what happens when you are pregnant, among other things.

I am going to step outside of my mostly fantasy book world, and do top books set in a war. This is a combo of real wars/fantasy wars. I am sure that I have actually read more, as when I was younger, this was one of my favorite settings. I always enjoyed fictional tales set during a war, whether the war be the central situation or not.

Top Books set during wars

1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
2. Night by Elie Wiesel
3. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis
4. Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford
5. Diary of Anne Frank
6. The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom
7. The Left Behind series – Technically about a future world war, so I will count it.
8. World War Z- I haven’t exactly finished this yet, but I am going to count it because it is a bit different from the others. WOO! Zombie War! It is actually really interesting, as it is not your typical zombie fiction, but written as though it is an historical account of the war.
9. The Lord of the Rings series- Ok, so I know this isn’t your typical war, but I am going to count it because there is an awesome battle for Middle Earth.
10. The Ender’s Saga by Orson Scott Card – Awesome alien war…I think it’s called the Formic Wars…or that might be another war in some of his other books.

Does anybody have any books they enjoy that are set during a war, fictional or otherwise? I always enjoy recommendations!

5 comments on “Top Ten Books Set During a War

  1. I can’t get over the fact that World War Z is written with so many different styles, dialogue and writing wise. Did it hinder your reading at all?

    • I am still reading it now, but it does switch around a lot. I kind of enjoyed the fact that it was more first hand historical accounts of the situation, which I thought was a new twist on just a plain old zombie books. I have enjoyed it so far, though. I can see what you are saying, though, and that is probably why I keep putting it down and go to other books lol

      • I keep picking it up at Target and then reading a page and putting it back down, but you’re right I like the idea of it. I might get it now. You’ve inspired me. : )

  2. During a war! Smart. I focused in on just WWII and also had Book Thief on my list 🙂

Leave a Reply

