Leave a comment

Rutabaga

According to Wikipedia, a rutabaga is:

“swede (from Swedish turnip),[1] turnip, yellow turnip, or neep (Brassica napobrassica, or Brassica napus var. napobrassica, or Brassica napus subsp. rapifera) is a root vegetable that originated as a cross between the cabbage and the turnip; see Triangle of U. The roots are prepared for food in a variety of ways, and its leaves can also be eaten as a leaf vegetable.” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rutabaga

Yeah, I know, right? You totally woke up this morning wondering what this was. Consider your world officially rocked.

Actually, the purpose of this recent research was the fact that I looked up how big my unborn baby is. I am at approximately 25 weeks, and yesterday I officially SAW my baby kick me. My belly literally bounced up and down. It was kind of bizarre, but incredibly awesome. I was curious to how big my sweet girl was, and the answer I found was the size of a rutabaga. I realize some people may eat these, but I just found it interesting that this would be the vegetable or fruit of choice to compare an unborn child to. Maybe something more common, like a potato…cantaloupe? I have also read that this is about one and half pounds.

I always knew that babies kicked, but I never realized how much you saw and felt them move. It is pretty incredible. We found out a few weeks ago that we were having a girl, which is amazing! I would have been happy either way, but I have been surrounded by boys since I was a teenager, and I am pretty excited to have another girl on my team. We are going to have some pretty amazing tea party and princess parties. I am not big on princesses, but our princesses will be strong respectable women that are not only revered for our looks, but our kindness towards others and intelligence. It is kind of a relief to not have to teach a little boy how to respect women, but a whole other ball game to teach a little girl to respect herself when the world tells us we need to prance around half naked in order to get attention from anybody.

Wow, this post took a strange turn. We went from rutabagas to respecting women. I hope you learned something. I am going to go look for some rutabaga recipes now.

Leave a Reply

